When the Elephants Dance – Holthe, Tess Uriza

$10.00

ISBN: 0609609521
Title: When the Elephants Dance
Author: Holthe, Tess Uriza
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Crown Publishers, New York
Publication Date: 2002
Edition: SIGNED First Edition
Book Condition: NF
D-j Condition: NF-

Comments: Light wear to back of d-j. Bump on top of front board.

Synopsis: In the waning days of World War II, as the Japanese and U.S. forces battle to possess the Philippine Islands, the Karangalan family hides with their neighbors in a cramped cellar, where they glean hope from the family stories and folktales they tell each other. These stories of love, survival, and family blend the supernatural with the rich, little known history of the Philippines, the centuries of Spanish colonization, the power of the Catholic church, and the colorful worlds of the Spanish, Mestizo, and Filipino cultures.

As the villagers tell their stories in the darkened cellar below, Holthe masterfully weaves in the stories of three brave Filipinos–a teenage brother and sister and a guerilla fighter–as they become caught in the battle against the vicious Japanese forces above ground.

Inspired by her father’s firsthand accounts of this period, Tess Uriza Holthe brings to magical and terrifying life a story of the hope and courage needed to survive in wartime.

“Voices once silent sing out load and clear…A powerful tale of the Philippine Islands and a testament to the resilience and courage of the Filipino people.”–Gail Tsukiyama, San Francisco Chronicle

“Readers who loved Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude or Isabelle Allende’s The House of the Spirits will welcome this novel.”– The New Orleans Times-Picayune

Description

ISBN: 0609609521
Title: When the Elephants Dance
Author: Holthe, Tess Uriza
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Crown Publishers, New York
Publication Date: 2002
Edition: SIGNED First Edition
Book Condition: NF
D-j Condition: NF-

Comments: Light wear to back of d-j. Bump on top of front board.

Synopsis: In the waning days of World War II, as the Japanese and U.S. forces battle to possess the Philippine Islands, the Karangalan family hides with their neighbors in a cramped cellar, where they glean hope from the family stories and folktales they tell each other. These stories of love, survival, and family blend the supernatural with the rich, little known history of the Philippines, the centuries of Spanish colonization, the power of the Catholic church, and the colorful worlds of the Spanish, Mestizo, and Filipino cultures.

As the villagers tell their stories in the darkened cellar below, Holthe masterfully weaves in the stories of three brave Filipinos–a teenage brother and sister and a guerilla fighter–as they become caught in the battle against the vicious Japanese forces above ground.

Inspired by her father’s firsthand accounts of this period, Tess Uriza Holthe brings to magical and terrifying life a story of the hope and courage needed to survive in wartime.

“Voices once silent sing out load and clear…A powerful tale of the Philippine Islands and a testament to the resilience and courage of the Filipino people.”–Gail Tsukiyama, San Francisco Chronicle

“Readers who loved Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude or Isabelle Allende’s The House of the Spirits will welcome this novel.”– The New Orleans Times-Picayune

Additional information

Author

Box

Djcondition

Binding

Condition

Edition

Isbn

609609521

Publicationdate

Publisher