Hungry Ghosts: Mao’s Secret Famine – Becker, Jasper

$15.00

SKU: 20033 Categories: , , Tags: , , , ,

ISBN: 068483457X
Title: Hungry Ghosts: Mao’s Secret Famine
Author: Becker, Jasper
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Free Press, New York
Publication Date: 1996
Edition: First Edition
Book Condition: NF
D-j Condition: F

Comments: Glue residue on top edge.

Synopsis: In the tradition of John Hersey’s, Hiroshima, journalist Jasper Becker’s penetrating account of China’s four-year famine uncovers the truth behind one of the darkest chapters in history. Hungry Ghosts is the horrific story of the state-sponsored terror, cannibalism, torture, and murder during Mao Zedong’s Great Leap Forward, an attempt at utopian engineering gone wrong. This is the unforgettable story of the century’s greatest human rights disaster, in which more people died than in Stalin’s purges and the Holocaust put together. Becker conducted hundreds of interviews and spent years immersed in painstaking detective work to examine the unprecedented madness that plagued China between 1958 and 1962. For the first time since it was so ruthlessly and categorically erased from history, Becker unearths what really happened during these years, and how the famine and terror could have been kept a secret for so long.

Description

ISBN: 068483457X
Title: Hungry Ghosts: Mao’s Secret Famine
Author: Becker, Jasper
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Free Press, New York
Publication Date: 1996
Edition: First Edition
Book Condition: NF
D-j Condition: F

Comments: Glue residue on top edge.

Synopsis: In the tradition of John Hersey’s, Hiroshima, journalist Jasper Becker’s penetrating account of China’s four-year famine uncovers the truth behind one of the darkest chapters in history. Hungry Ghosts is the horrific story of the state-sponsored terror, cannibalism, torture, and murder during Mao Zedong’s Great Leap Forward, an attempt at utopian engineering gone wrong. This is the unforgettable story of the century’s greatest human rights disaster, in which more people died than in Stalin’s purges and the Holocaust put together. Becker conducted hundreds of interviews and spent years immersed in painstaking detective work to examine the unprecedented madness that plagued China between 1958 and 1962. For the first time since it was so ruthlessly and categorically erased from history, Becker unearths what really happened during these years, and how the famine and terror could have been kept a secret for so long.

Additional information

Author

Box

Djcondition

Binding

Condition

Edition

Isbn

068483457X

Publicationdate

Publisher

Subscribe

Enter your email to receive news about new arrivals and sales.